• IST Outstanding Reviewer Award 2018

    Steffen Herbold was recognized as an Outstanding Reviewer in 2018 for the Information and Software Technology journal published by Elsevier. This award recognizes his the quality, timeliness, and quantity of his reviews for the journal.
  • Best Industrial Paper Award at the SANER 2017

    Our group members Steffen Herbold and Jens Grabowski, together with their co-authors Harald Altinger, Friederike Schneemann (AUDI Electronic Ventures), and Franz Wotawa (TU Graz) won the award for the best industrial paper with our work on Performance Tuning for Automotive Software Fault Prediction at the 24th IEEE International Conference on Software Analysis, Evolution, and Reengineering (SANER 2017). The paper evaluated the impact of different sampling approaches on defect prediction models for automative software. 
  • MINT-Award Informatik 2016

    The master thesis A Platform for the Integration of Repository Mining and Software Analytics through Big Data Technologies by Fabian Trautsch was rewarded with the MINT-Award Informatik 2016. The thesis by Fabian Trautsch was the best work of all submissions. The MINT-Award Informatik 2016 is awarded by the MINT-Initiative Deutschland, which is a nationwide initiative that wants to contribute to a positive attitude to MINT professions in the public. In his thesis Fabian Trautsch describes the design and development of a platform, which incorporates the mining and the analysis of software projects and present it with an easy to use web interface to the researcher. Furthermore, the platform is designed as a general-purpose platform and uses different big data technologies and frameworks (e.g. Apache Spark, Apache Hadoop) to make an efficient and fast analysis of the mined data possible. Fabian Trautsch was collectively supervised by Dr. Steffen Herbold and Prof. Rieck (TU Braunschweig). 
  • Best Presentation Award at the UCAAT 2016

    At the User Conference on Advanced Automated Testing (UCAAT) 2016 in Budapest, our group members Patrick Harms and Jens Grabowski won the Best Presentation Award. Their presentation was about Experiences with Automated Field Usability Testing Using Generated Task Models and included in addition to a brief overview of Patrick's PhD thesis on Automated Field Usability Evaluation Using Generated Task Trees a proposal on how this approach could be integrated into a Software or Platform as a Service.
  • Best Poster Award at SIMULTECH 2016

    For their joint work Towards Multi-Level-Simulation using Dynamic Cloud Environments, Stefan Wittek (TU Clausthal), Michael Göttsche (our group), Andreas Rausch (TU Clausthal), and Jens Grabowski have been awarded with the Best Poster Award of the 6th International Conference on Simulation and Modeling Methodologies, Technologies and Applications (SIMULTECH 2016)
  • ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Award at the MSR 2016

    Fabian Trautsch, Steffen Herbold, Philip Makedonski, and Jens Grabowski won an ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Award for their paper "Adressing Problems with External Validity of Repository Mining Studies Through a Smart Data Platform" at the 13th International Conference on Mining Software Repositories (MSR). Within the paper, four major problems in the state of practice of software repository mining are discussed and the SmartSHARK smart data platform is proposed and evaluated as a potential solution. The smart data platform is an outcome of the Master thesis of Fabian Trautsch which was supervised by Steffen Herbold. ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Awards can be awarded to the top 10% of technical full papers at high profile conferences sponsored by the ACM. 
  • DCCLOSER 2015 Best PhD Project Award

    Fabian Glaser was awarded the best PhD Project Award for his paper and presentation entitled "Towards Domain Model Optimized Deployment and Execution of Scientific Applications in Cloud Environments" at the Doctoral Consortium on Cloud Computing and Services Science. The doctoral consortium was collocated with the 5th International Conference on Cloud Computing and Services Science (CLOSER 2015).
  • Bug Bash Winner at the ICST 2015

    The Bug Bash is an ad-hoc session, where testers are asked to find as many failures as possible within a short amount of time within a previously unknown software. Steffen Herbold won the Bug Bash together with Tanja Vos from the Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain at the 8th IEEE International Conference on Software Testing, Verification and Validation in Graz. 
  • PROMISE 2013 Best Paper Award

    Steffen Herbold was awarded the best paper award of the 9th International Conference on Predictive Models in Software Engineering (PROMISE 2013) for his paper "Training data selection for cross-project defect prediction". 
  • VALID 2011 Best Paper Award

    Edith Werner and Jens Grabowski were awarded a best paper award of the 3rd International Conference on Advances in System Testing and Validation Lifecycle (VALID 2011) for their paper "Model Reconstruction: Mining Test Cases".


2011 © Software Engineering For Distributed Systems Group

Main menu 2